(877) 276-7648 (704) 325-8057

DWI_photo-5

North Carolina Traffic Ticket Attorney

Have You Received a Ticket for a Traffic Offense in North Carolina?

Traffic offenses can result in serious legal and financial implications if ignored. Receiving a traffic ticket, even for something as minor as speeding, should not be taken lightly.  Traffic tickets in your name not just result in fines but may also cost you your driving license and affect your insurance premium payments in the future. Even if you pay the fine for a minor offense, you actually plead guilty and this may add up to your name in case you are ever involved in an accident or a traffic conviction later on. Its best to consult a professional attorney and get some legal head start on your position before you take any further action.

Contact a North Carolina Traffic Offense and Speeding Ticket Lawyer In Case You Are Convicted

At Johnson & Nicholson, we represent our clients against all types of traffic tickets and violations. Over the years, our attorneys have helped reduce or dismiss the charges altogether for several moving violations and traffic offenses. Not only will our lawyers provide you the legal representation you need, but also help you keep your license intact and avoid the unnecessary raise in insurance rates. In case the license has been revoked, we will help arrange limited driving privileges so you can carry on with your schedule without any inconvenience.

Here is a quick overview of the traffic tickets and their complete fee in North Carolina as per the Mecklenburg county court for all traffic violations, speeding and DWI offenses.

Mecklenburg County Court Costs for Traffic Offenses

The following is a list of tickets for DWI, speeding offenses and traffic violations in North Carolina:

Tickets

Fees from 8/1/2011-Present

*These costs are approximate costs and subject to change

Speeding Offense

Court Cost

Attorney Fee

Late Fee

Over 5

$198

$150

$398

Over 9

$203

$150

$403

Over 14

$218

$150

$418

Over 16-20

$240

$200

$440

Violations

Red Light

$238

$150

$438

No Operator License

$240

$200

$440

Inspection Violation

$213

$150

$413

Registration Violation

$215

$150

$415

Failure to Notify

$215

$150

$415

Improper Equipment

$263

$150

$463

Improper Turn 

$213

$150

$413

Failure to Yield

$223

$150

$423

Lane Violation  

$238

$150

$438

Window Tint Violation

$240

$150

$440

Child Rest. Violation

$213

$150

$413

Left of Center

$213

$150

$413

Unsafe Movement

$213

$150

$413

Unintentional Litter

$228

$150

$428

Intentional Litter

$428

$150

$628

Pass on Right

$238

$150

$438

Urinate in Public

$205

$150

$405

Alcohol under 21

$205

$285

$405

Alcohol Passenger

$213

$250

$413

Seat Belt Violation

$161

$150

$361

Tickets

Fees before 7/1/2011

Speeding Offense

Court Cost

Attorney Fee

Late Fee

Over 5

$151

$150

$398

Over 9

$156

$150

$403

Over 14

$171

$150

$418

Over 16-20

$193

$200

$440

Violations

Red Light

$191

$150

$438

No Operator License

$193

$200

$440

Inspection Violation

$166

$150

$413

Registration Violation

$168

$150

$415

Failure to Notify

$168

$150

$415

Improper Equipment

$166

$150

$463

Improper Turn 

$166

$150

$413

Failure to Yield

$176

$150

$423

Lane Violation  

$191

$150

$438

Window Tint Violation

$193

$150

$440

Child Rest. Violation

$166

$150

$413

Left of Center

$166

$150

$413

Unsafe Movement

$166

$150

$413

Unintentional Litter

$181

$150

$428

Intentional Litter

$381

$150

$628

Pass on Right

$191

$150

$438

Urinate in Public

$158

$150

$405

Alcohol under 21

$158

$285

$405

Alcohol Passenger

$166

$250

$413

Seat Belt Violation

$132

$150

$361

Tickets

Fees between 7/1/2011 and 7/31/2011

Speeding Offense

Court Cost

Attorney Fee

Late Fee

Over 5

$180

$150

$398

Over 9

$185

$150

$403

Over 14

$200

$150

$418

Over 16-20

$222

$200

$440

Violations

Red Light

$220

$150

$438

No Operator License

$222

$200

$440

Inspection Violation

$195

$150

$413

Registration Violation

$197

$150

$415

Failure to Notify

$197

$150

$415

Improper Equipment

$195

$150

$463

Improper Turn 

$195

$150

$413

Failure to Yield

$205

$150

$423

Lane Violation  

$220

$150

$438

Window Tint Violation

$222

$150

$440

Child Rest. Violation

$195

$150

$413

Left of Center

$195

$150

$413

Unsafe Movement

$195

$150

$413

Unintentional Litter

$210

$150

$428

Intentional Litter

$410

$150

$628

Pass on Right

$220

$150

$438

Urinate in Public

$187

$150

$405

Alcohol under 21

$187

$350

$405

Alcohol Passenger

$195

$250

$413

Seat Belt Violation

$161

$150

$361

*FTA fee is $200 (late fee) in addition to the cost of the ticket

** If the ticket has accrued an FTA fee, then the court cost of today will be assessed to the cost.

Contact Johnson & Nicholson for All Traffic Violation Charges No Matter How Old

Always get legal help from a certified traffic offense attorney in North Carolina if you have received a traffic ticket. Johnson & Nicholson accepts traffic violation charges no matter how old they are and can provide you the legal representation and assistance you need to avoid jail time and clear your case. For more information about the DWI offenses and traffic violations for which you can receive a ticket, please contact us on our website or call at (877) 276-7648 for free consultation.

             

DMV Points for Speeding and Other Offenses in North Carolina

Driver’s License Points in North Carolina

For any type of traffic violation, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) adds the conviction to your driving record and assigns you de-meriting points depending upon the type and severity of the offense. Besides this, the DMV may also notify your insurance company on your request or issue order for suspension or completion of driver improvement course (if it is applicable).

Getting points for traffic violations not only result in fines, court fees or community service but they may also result in cancellation of your license. The North Carolina General Statutes 20-16 and 20-16.1 has defined specific scenarios where the NC-DMV possesses the right to suspend somebody’s driving license. The authority has also set forth a schedule of point values that specifies how many points does each offense cost.

For example, if you accumulate 12 or more than 12 points within a span of three years, your driver’s license might be suspended. Also, if more than 8 points are accumulated in the three year period that follows the reinstatement of license following a suspension because of a traffic offense; your license may be suspended.

Here is a complete list of Schedule of Point Values as per NCGS 20-16. For all these traffic offenses occurring with the state of North Carolina, the NC-DMMV records convictions.

Driver’s License Point Schedule for Non-Commercial Vehicles

Traffic Offense

Points

Passing stopped school bus

5

Aggressive driving

5

Reckless driving

4

Hit and run, property damage only

4

Following too close

4

Driving on wrong side of road

4

Illegal passing

4

Failure to yield right-of-way to pedestrian

4

Failure to yield right-of-way to bicycle, motor scooter, or motorcycle

4

Running through stop sign

3

Speeding in excess of 55 miles per hour

3

Failing to yield right-of-way

3

Running through red light

3

No driver’s license or license expired more than one year

3

Failure to stop for siren

3

Driving through safety zone

3

No liability insurance

3

Failure to report accident where such report is required

3

Speeding in a school zone

3

Failure to properly restrain a child in a restraint or seat belt

2

All other moving violations

2

Littering pursuant to G.S. 14-399 when the littering involves the use of a motor vehicle

1

Driver’s License Point Schedule for Commercial Vehicles

The associated points are even higher when the convicted is found to be driving a commercial motor vehicle when committing the traffic offense.

Traffic Offense

Points

Passing stopped school bus

8

Rail-highway crossing violation

6

Careless and reckless driving in violation of G.S. 20-140(f)

6

Speeding in violation of G.S. 20-141(j3)

6

Aggressive driving

6

Reckless driving

5

Hit and run, property damage only

5

Following too close

5

Driving on wrong side of road

5

Illegal passing

5

Failure to yield right-of-way to pedestrian

5

Failure to yield right-of-way to bicycle, motor scooter, or motorcycle

5

Running through stop sign

4

Speeding in excess of 55 miles per hour

4

Failure to yield right-of-way

4

Running through red light

4

No driver’s license or license expired more than one year

4

Failure to stop for siren

4

Driving through safety zone

4

No liability insurance

4

Failure to report accident where such report is required

4

Speeding in a school zone

4

Possessing alcoholic beverages in the passenger area of a commercial motor vehicle

4

All other moving violations

3

Littering pursuant to G.S. 14-399 when the littering involves the use of a motor vehicle

1

Convictions that Don’t Cost Any NC-DMV Points

The following traffic offenses do not result in any NC-DMV traffic offense points.

  • Overloads
  • Over length
  • Over width
  • Over height
  • Illegal parking
  • Carrying concealed weapon(s)
  • Improper equipment/plates/registration/muffler
  • Improper display of license plates or dealer’s tags
  • Failure to display current inspection certificate

Contact a North Carolina Traffic Defense Attorney if You Have Received a Ticket

While you may be thinking that the best thing to do in this case is mailing in your ticket with payment or making the payment online, it might actually backfire at you. Doing so may not only cost you unnecessary points but in the worst case scenario your Driver’s License may also go into suspension status.

Get in touch with an experienced North Carolina traffic defense attorney to discuss your situation. We at Johnson & Nicholson, PLLC can help you reduce or eliminate the points associated with your traffic offense record.

Business Hours

We are available 24/7 days a week.

Contact us now:
Charlotte, NC: (704) 325-8057
Charleston, SC: (843) 564-8564

Contact Us Now

Our Offices

  • Charlotte, NC Law Office

    Charlotte, NC

    (704) 325-8057
  • Charleston, SC Law Office

    Charleston, SC

    (843) 564-8564
CHARLOTTE OFFICE
Johnson & Nicholson, PLLC
5806 Monroe Road, Ste. 102
Charlotte, NC 28212
Tel: (704) 325-8057
Fax: (704) 375-1919
Toll Free: (877) 276-7648
cj@johnnichlaw.com
www.johnnichlaw.com
CHARLESTON OFFICE
Immigration Law Only
Johnson & Nicholson, PLLC
6650 Rivers Avenue
North Charleston, SC 29406
Tel: (843) 564-8564
Fax: (704) 375-1919
Toll Free: (877) 276-7648
cj@johnnichlaw.com
www.johnnichlaw.com

We gladly accept ARAG Insurance. National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (TM)The National Top 100 Trial Lawyers

Mecklenburg County Bar

Call (877) 276-7648 for a free consultation.


CHARLOTTE OFFICE
Johnson & Nicholson, PLLC
5806 Monroe Road, Ste. 102
Charlotte, NC 28212
Tel: (704) 325-8057
Fax: (704) 375-1919
Toll Free: (877) 276-7648
cj@johnnichlaw.com
www.johnnichlaw.com

CHARLESTON OFFICE
Immigration Law Only
Johnson & Nicholson, PLLC
6650 Rivers Avenue
North Charleston, SC 29406
Tel: (843) 564-8564
Fax: (704) 375-1919
Toll Free: (877) 276-7648
cj@johnnichlaw.com
www.johnnichlaw.com

National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (TM)

The National Top 100 Trial Lawyers

Mecklenburg County Bar

American Immigration Lawyers Association

Translate »